taking back roads

The not so great part about SC

on August 29, 2012

The bugs. It’s a good thing there aren’t neighbors close to us, because anytime something lands on me (or even flies past me) I scream. I’d say like a little girl but A isn’t phased by the bugs at all- she just laughs at me. At night it sounds like a jungle!! I don’t want to know what’s hiding in those trees!!

The scariest thing I’ve seen is this guy:

20120829-155709.jpg

He’s about the length of my thumb! His web was probably 4’x3′!! He only comes out at night and there’s no sign of even his web in the morning.

20120829-160126.jpg

Poor J stepped on some Fire Ants and got about 30 bites. I now carry after-bite ointment and Benadryl in the diaper bag. Putting on bug spray is apart of the daily routine. The locals say they’ll be gone come fall. Thank goodness!!

